Aftermath of the PSN hack: Are we stupid?

In April of 2011, Sony was forced to shut down the PlayStation Network (PSN). The outage, which lasted nearly a month, was in response to a hack into the system that compromised 77 million accounts. In addition to the obvious security failures, Sony also received much criticism for their handling of the situation, perhaps most significant, the fact that they didn’t inform their customers of the danger until a week after their information had first been accessed.

Personally, I thought that this catastrophic failure would result in a permanent lost of trust from their customers. However according to their CEO, the PSN is doing just fine.

“I’m pleased to tell you that the PSN is more secure and better than ever. We are aggressively expanding its content. We have more than three million new customers since the network came back online, and sales are exceeding what we had before the cyber attacks. This year, we at Sony have been flooded, we’ve been flattened, we’ve been hacked, we’ve been singed. But the summer of our discontent is behind us. The past is a prologue to future possibility.”

– Howard Stringer, Sony CEO

More than 3 million new customers, just months after the network was breached? Are we stupid?

Is it that we have a lot of faith in Sony and the PSN, or is it because we all really want to play Uncharted 3?

4 thoughts on “Aftermath of the PSN hack: Are we stupid?

  1. Everyone has the potential of being hacked at some point. Personally I believe Sony should have notified its customers sooner, but I also was wondering if it was possible that the release of that information possibly could of effected there attempt to fend off the hackers? Keeping the public in the dark maybe was keeping the hackers thinking Sony wasn’t fully aware? I’m not a fan of PS3, but another thing that comes to mind after the fact is even though they didn’t handle it properly, a big company like Sony is definitely going to be working hard to stop it from happening again, so i feel like there’s a better chance of it being secure now. At least for the meantime.

    • Yeah, I think failures like this one actually strengthen a system, because it points out their weaknesses and puts them on their guard for the future. I’m really surprised that the general public, who doesn’t usually think about things that way, would be so trusting so soon though. It really makes me wonder if they’re really joining/staying because they feel safe or because they don’t have any choice if they want to play PS3 only titles (like Uncharted.)

  2. I agree with you, Uncharted 3 is a game I am looking forward to play on the PS3. I bought my PS3 years ago and up until the recent hack I didn’t really have any problems with the network. The period of time in which the network was hacked didn’t affect me much because I never put any of my financial information on the network and I mostly played single player games. The fact that 3 million people joined after the hack is very surprising since PlayStation didn’t inform its users about the hack and it lasted for weeks, however not everyone that buys a PS3 has put their information on the network. I can only hope that the people getting PSN account be more careful about putting their personal information in there.

    • That’s true. You don’t necessarily have to put your credit card info out there to play these games. I think the fact that the system was down for so long was still a big inconvenience for people though, even if they didn’t have to worry about their personal info being leaked.

      Then again… I doubt that most people would completely throw out $300 console even if they were legitimately concerned about the network going down again in the future. haha

Comments are closed.