Password recycling

Password security was briefly mentioned in class Tuesday so when I came upon an article about it, I couldn’t think of anything else better to write about.

According to newly published survey results more than 60% of users recycle passwords; using the same password for multiple logins. I found this data to no surprise because I find myself using the same password for multiple logins out of laziness. Remembering or storing an unique password in a secure place can be a chore. LastPass isn’t a bad option when looking for a password ‘storage locker’. Its a browser ad-on for most modern browsers (Firefox, Safari, Chrome, and IE). For mac users, 1Password is my preferred application.

A more disturbing survey found nearly 42% of Australians that were surveyed shared their password with a friend, family member, or colleague. Its basic computer knowledge that you don’t share passwords. Yet, people do for whatever reason.

Password security is important and its not that difficult to keep passwords secure. Don’t share them with anybody, change them often, and use ‘good’ secure passwords. A good rule of thumb is to not include dictionary words in passwords. Also including numbers and symbols for additional security.

Read more results of the survey- http://www.zdnet.com/blog/security/survey-60-percent-of-users-use-the-same-password-across-more-than-one-of-their-online-accounts/9489?tag=mantle_skin;content

How often do you guys change your passwords? Do you find yourselves using the same password for multiple logins? And what makes a good password from a bad password?

2 thoughts on “Password recycling

  1. I have about three different passwords(that I remember) that I use for most of my accounts. The other passwords for accounts I rarely use I almost always forget and have to click “forgot my password” to recover it. Sharing a password is always a bad idea, I agree. Your friend today may have a grudge against you tomorrow, and if they have your password, bad things can happen. I think the best passwords are the longer ones, regardless. Since adding another character would just multiple the number of possibilities by the number of available symbols of the next character. Making it long enough would make a brute force algorithm pretty hard to crack.

    • Good point. Its not uncommon for many tech savvy people to have somewheres around three passwords they reuse among different logins. You mentioned the ‘forgot my password’. How difficult are your security questions to prevent somebody that knows you well enough to answer them? Your passwords may be ‘strong’ but somebody who’s specifically targeting you may know how to get those same answers out of you.

      A good solution may be not actually answering the questions with something that makes sense. Making it extremely hard for somebody who knows you to guess.

Comments are closed.