Dead Drops

Here is an interesting topic that I originally found posed this week on RIT’s Reddit; the idea of offline anonymous file sharing.

I figured since we talked this week about how when we find removable media, flash drives, CDs, etc. we should avoid putting them in our machines. The concept here is to do the exact opposite. Here we have a video of a German blogger putting flash drives into the walls and cracks of New York City.

While this is extremely unsafe from a security standpoint, you have to admit the idea is cool. If there were ever a way to ensure only ‘safe’ files could be put on the drive, I would be VERY interested in trying it out.

Here is a link to the original blog post:
http://datenform.de/blog/dead-drops-preview/

One thought on “Dead Drops

  1. I just posted about this myself this morning without realizing that you did already. I agree with you that the idea is very intriguing and I would love to see how people would use it. Unfortunately as we both know, this will be used by someone to hack into people’s computers. 

Comments are closed.