The iphone that ruined a marriage?

Just a few day ago, according to MacRumors.com, the new iPhone 4s app called “Find My Friends” has claimed its first marriage. The story was not proven fact or fiction as of yet, but it’s probably a strong possibility that its true.

The man posting the blog had installed the app on his wife’s phone without her knowledge. He had assumed she was meeting someone in the city, so he installed the app in hopes to catch her. Sure enough, the phone was listed at being at the address he was expecting. He had messaged her asking her where she was, in which she replied she was in some other location, and was effectively caught in her lie. Below is a quote from the man that posted his story in MacRumors.com:

“I got my wife a new 4s and loaded up find my friends without her knowing. She told me she was at her friends house in the east village. I’ve had suspicions about her meeting this guy who live uptown. Lo and behold, Find my Friends has her right there.

I just texted her asking where she was and the dumb b!otch said she was on 10th Street!! Thank you Apple, thank you App Store, thank you all. These beautiful treasure trove of screen shots going to play well when I meet her a$$ at the lawyer’s office in a few weeks.
thankfully, she’s the rich one.”
One has to contemplate the morality of an app like this, but one need not contemplate the morality of adultery. iPhone didn’t ruin the marriage, the wife did; It may have just helped end it before things got worse.
2 thoughts on “The iphone that ruined a marriage?

  1. Being a iPhone 4 user, I tried this application when it was released on the App Store. I think it can be very useful in some scenarios but I personally wouldn’t leave it running all the time.

    First of all I noticed my iPhone battery drained faster. Find my iPhone is location services intense. Meaning it makes a lot of location ‘calls’ which is battery intense.

    Also I really don’t like the idea of somebody knowing where I always am. Its not that I’m going to places where I don’t want to be seen- its the idea of that information out there.

    I can see how the Find my Friends application may be abused. Stalkers, ex boyfriends/girlfriends, etc- could possibly gain access to this information. In general, this problem can be avoided by disabling location services on all smartphones.

  2. Find my Friends is just blatantly a bad idea, yet a surprising amount of people are trying it. Probably a fair share of them for non-legit purposes. Ethically we should not need to use it. When you want to know where someone is, asking should be enough. If you know it would be wrong to ask in a certain situation, then you can bet using Find my Friends would be wrong too. What the guy did here though is not so bad because he could ask and she was in the wrong for lying.

Comments are closed.