Cloud Concern

Image

 

 

As cloud computing grows into one of the largest divisions of the IT industry, one might question the security. Many companies switched to the cheaper and more convenient service of using a cloud. And as these companies are putting all their information in the cloud, many feel concerned about how safe the cloud is.

     A recent survey of over 700 firms found that 57.7 % believe that internal storage of the data would be safer than cloud service. While the other 42.3% is mainly unsure of what could be safer. Most firms believe that security is the biggest concern of cloud computing. Although all these companies are worried about the security of the cloud, many of them will find a reason to use it anyways. The greatest reasons being cost savings, availability, and access to more features. 

     So how safe is cloud computing? Well the answer to that depends. Since most cloud services are through third parties, which to companies can often seem risky, the security of the cloud will vary among the provider. Like all forms of security it is not all made equal. Since this cloud services are relatively recent it is difficult to find the most trusted cloud providers. This is when the security of a cloud could be a concern. Cloud computing is much newer which can be scary because many companies do not know as much about the standards of clouds. Just over half of the firms were aware of ISO/IEC certificate of security standards and of those half only a fourth were aware of the cloud security alliance standards (CSA security, trust, and Assurance Registry). Most of the time the largest problem in security of anything is ignorance, cloud computing is no exception. Companies need to be vigilant in how their cloud provider operates such as how they protect passwords. As a company the goal shouldn’t have to be skeptical about a cloud provider losing/exposing your information.

 

sources:

http://www.v3.co.uk/v3-uk/news/2207982/companies-remain-distrustful-of-cloud-email-security-tools

http://blogs.csoonline.com/cloud-security/2373/cloud-security-alliance-set-unleash-20-plus-research-and-guidance-reports

https://cloudsecurityalliance.org/

7 thoughts on “Cloud Concern

  1. Interesting article. Personally, I think cloud computing is super convenient. I love my Dropbox, it’s gotten me out of many (almost) sticky situations. I do think that data would be safer if I was physically in charge of its location. At a minimum, cloud computing makes a great backup tool.

    • oh dropbox, where would I be without you? I love the concept of cloud storage, but at the same time it scares me. You are essentially trusting a 3rd party to story and protect your information. I feel that companies that provide this service need to provide some sort of encryption service as a package with the files that are uploaded to the remote server. This way, at least the uploader can feel safe that his/her files are not being inspected by either the 3rd party company or anyone who has access to those files.

      • I guess if nobody reading your files is important to you, you could always encrypt your stuff before you send it anywhere. Personally, I find I don’t really care about 90% of the stuff I do (I don’t want to read my essays, I find it hard to believe someone else would. There’s nothing personal in them, just my name.) and so it doesn’t matter. Think of cyberceige- too much security doesn’t help, there’s a happy medium. We’re training to be a little paranoid in this class, but it’s worth remembering that some things don’t have to be for knox.

  2. I think for our personal use of cloud storage we don’t have to be concerned with the lack of security too much. As ssc1344 said, I don’t put anything that sensitive in my DropBox and if someone wants to steal it they might get a few essays out of it along with some other information that is useless to them. Now, for companies, it is a much different story. Companies can be dealing with millions of dollars, millions of customer’s information, and other sensitive information that they obviously wouldn’t want stolen. Companies need to research cloud storage and be careful what they put out there until it is much more secure.

  3. I’ve had a question that I haven’t found an answer to regarding cloud computing. How is the information physically stored? If I were to upload a personal video to a third party cloud storage provider, where does that video end up? Is it stored in one or two physical locations? Or three? Why not break the file up and spread it across many different locations. If the file was especially sensitive, why not put in place several security stages required to receive the entire file. I don’t know, just a thought.

    • Information of a cloud is stored at data centers where their are usually hundreds of data servers that store the information on multiple machines to lessen the chance of one machines failure affecting others. So it redundantly stores information sometimes at one facility or multiple facilities. If it’s one facility it will be on multiple servers that have different power sources.

  4. I’ve never really used any cloud services, even though they sound very handy. When I think of clouds I think about how new they are, and their vulnerabilities bother me, even though I personally have nothing I would need to hide. I can see where companies relying on their cloud to provide convenience AND security can be at fault. The technology is so new, but there really does need to be a set standard for securty, so people know exactly what they are paying for.

Comments are closed.