Lockitron Fail

The advancement of technology can be a good thing – but in this case, there’s a fine line between security and convenience.

Lockitron is a new app that can be downloaded in the App Store that allows you to be able to unlock your house, business, garage or safe with the click of the button. Makes things easy, right? It allows people to get access to their things with just the click of one button, as apposed to you fiddling around with a lock. That app is free, and the device that you put on the door is 150 bucks.

But this has many security flaws:

1) Keyless entrance. It uses Bluetooth to connect your phone to the Lockitron when you’re within a distance. Then, it unlocks, letting you in.

2) What if someone has your phone for a moment? You can add users on the fly – a “hacker” could just add themselves and then have access to your lock.

3) E-mail addresses and text messages. You could just force the e-mail address and send a fake “open” packet to the door handle.

All in all, I think this hasn’t really been thought through that well. There are many different ways people could get access to your door and unlock it. From a security standpoint, this is more of a physical security issue, but it’s an issue nonetheless.

16 thoughts on “Lockitron Fail

  1. This device is convenient but isn’t very secure. But when you think about it, if someone is trying to break into a house are they going to hack your phone or find an easier way in. I think the security of this device is adequate enough for what it is supposed to do. After all, locks are only to keep honest people honest.

  2. I think that the idea is interesting, but I just do not see the point. I feel that the old adage: “Why fix it if its not broke?” applies to this invention. Interesting, but overcomplicated.

    • Exactly. I would say that the conventional way of opening a door is the safest way these days.

  3. The convenience of this device does not outweigh the security it compromises. It would not be worth it unless it was for a door where security isn’t really needed. Like to a bedroom or bathroom in a house. If a company were to use this it would be foolish.

    • That’s what I was thinking. If a company used it for something like a storage closet or places for maintenance to get into, that would be a different story. But putting it on the door to your wiring closet or equipment would just be poor judgement.

  4. I somewhat agree with your statement about “why fix it if its not broken” but that is not the best mentality for advancements in technology. I think the idea is good as specially for people who have a problem organizing their stuff. Yes it has security flaws but in the end someone who really wanted to rob you is always able to find another way in to your house.

  5. As you mentioned in class, this would be a serious security flaw if used in a corporate setting. But for personal use at home I see no real issue. Before I explain why, let me state that I’m assuming the Lockitron is not integrated into a home security system. That being said, if this lock is the only protection you have against intruders, worrying about the Lockitron’s integrity should be the least of your problems. You don’t have to be a criminal to figure out a way into a house. In my opinion, the ability to reason outside of your own perspective is an integral skill that is certainly not limited to cyber self defense.

  6. Although the simplicity seems like a huge benefit, I’d say stick to the old fashioned way of sticking a key into the lock. Although it may save you a couple seconds and make you look in front of your friends, I would say safety and protection overbears vulnerability. Unless the product is proven secure and tested and whatnot, I’m not completely convinced that this will be the next ground breaking product.

  7. Would something like this work in a situation inside a home where there are certain rooms you wouldn’t want young children to go into because of safety hazards? I think something like this could provide to be much more useful on the “soft” side of security.

    • I would say that’s a good idea, but kids are smart these days. Personally, I have 2 and 3 year old cousins that can use and iPhone just as well I can. Also, if they used keyless entry, all they would have to do is steal “mommy or daddy’s” phone and walk up to the door. Thanks for the comment!

      • The responsibility of keeping the cellphone away from the kids would fall on the parents.

        I agree that nowadays kids are very smart. I’m a little bit older and I once thought that I knew all there was to know in the world of technology. With all the current gadgets we have out now, I envisioned as a child; for instance “a computer in my pocket”, is simply the iPhone today.

  8. This app seems cool but I think new versions of apps and softwares usually have problems. As far as I’ve read nobody has had an issue with Lockitron and people are still looking for more convince by using such stuff without thinking about how secure they are

    • I’d point you down in the comments where someone was talking about the differences between convenience and security. I would agree in saying that it’s easier to access your things, but it’s not very secure.

  9. Honestly I don’t even see why they made this product. Does everything really need to be done from a smartphone. A key is probably safer than this. Someone could hack your phone or steal it and all they would have to know is where you live and they could break into your house. Just cause it’s saves like ten seconds doesn’t mean that it’s a good idea.

  10. I simply do not understand the purpose of unlocking your door before you’re at your door. I’ve honestly seen people lose their phones more than they lose the keys to their house, so this seems to almost create a loss of security.

  11. A very cool concept for an App, but executed so horribly. I mean honestly, anyone with the App can unlock the door as well? What were they thinking?

Comments are closed.