Still Feel Safe Online?

Do you feel safe while surfing the web? Well this article might make you rethink about your safety as you are asked to give away personal information online.

According to authorities a hacker from Pennsylvania has pleaded guilty to selling access to supercomputers for $50,000. He also sold access to RNKTel a telephone company as well as log-in credentials for a company called Tech of Texas and domain access to Domino’s Pizza. They said in the article that:

“According to court documents, the defendant bragged to FBI agents online that he had broken into the corporate servers of American Express, Yahoo, Google, Adobe, WordPress and other companies and universities.”

This was just one man, although he is a member of a group of hackers called Underground Intelligence Agency, and it makes me think about how many people could possibly have my personal information. There really is no guarantee when you talk about internet security, because there will always be some way to get the information.  It will definitely make me more weary when giving away personal information online.

Resources:

http://www.wired.com/threatlevel/2013/08/hacker-super-computer-access/

3 thoughts on “Still Feel Safe Online?

  1. This is something interesting to think about. Naturally, people are conditioned to do a lot of day-to-day tasks over the net, through various devices. For example, I used to use a teller at the bank to conduct transactions. Up until I discovered online-banking, many of my deposits and withdrawals have been done through an ATM & smart phone. How safe do I feel about my state of security?

    An article called, Security Vulnerabilities at All-time Highs for Mobile Devices, by ITBusinessEdge gives good insight about the products of a malicious attack. “…mobile devices are exposed to a record number of security threats, including a 400 percent increase in Android malware, as well as highly targeted Wi-Fi attacks (ITBE, 2013)”. Today, mobile phones/ smart devices are practically commodities of our lives, and they travel with us everywhere we go. Unlike the desktop computer, I can take my phone anywhere I go. This also leaves my mobile device vulnerable to attacks, which may be dependent on my location. This is why I would be less-inclined to access e-banking from an area that is heavy in user traffic, as opposed to accessing it from a network that is trusted.

    As I see it, feeling secure does not only imply the physical measures someone takes to protect personal information, but can also be made possible through psychology. Aside from the number of vulnerabilities counted, some people feel safer using Chrome because it is simplistic. Automatic updates keep the browser up-to-speed and protects the user from unknown activity. Though, simplicity has nothing to do with how secure software is – it shows that feeling secure can be made possible through other factors, such as how simple software is to use.

    Other factors may also include whether or not users are comfortable with the following: companies collecting information to optimize services, collection of information for SEO, collection of information for purchase, and/ or surveillance.

    Source:

    “Security Vulnerabilities at All-time Highs for Mobile Devices: ITBusinessEdge.com.” Business Technology News, Analysis and Context: ITBusinessEdge.com. Web. 3 Sept. 2013.

    http://www.itbusinessedge.com/slideshows/show.aspx?c=91005

  2. New technologies coupled with globalization are powerfully affecting people’s life style. We use technology for various things and our day-to-day activities are extremely involved with most of them. I am a person who does a lot of online activities.

    Do I still feel safe online? Hummm, I guess I do. The reason I believe I feel safe online is because I do not usually expose myself a whole lot on the internet and I do not “give away” my personal information to any kind of online page. The activities that require more security like bank transactions and buying online I normally do through my computer (that I try to keep safe) and when I to do my online shopping I like to deal with reliable companies such as Google, Amazon and Bestbuy. I am not saying that bad things will not happen when using these well-known companies as much as I am assuming that if something happen I will probably be reimbursed.

  3. I can agree with you here… I prefer to do e-banking, simply because it is economical. However, I still think there are ways to describe different levels of security. I am certain everyone wants to protect their information from criminals. However, how far would you go to consider yourself unsecured, if I told you the companies you shop from collect all sorts of information, that help you make future purchases?

    For example, you could be off Facebook, and browse the web about cars: car parts, car bodies, etc. And then you log-in back to Facebook, and notice there are advertisements related to your interest. Personally, I don’t like that, because it is like Facebook is watching you, even if you are not logged into it.

Comments are closed.